“B” Actors and Why They Rock


If asked what celebrities I admire, I would have to say my answer is “B” actors. I like Missi Pyle. I like Stephen Tobolowsky. I like Jeffrey Jones. This type of strong supporting character resonates with me.

IMG_8614.PNG

Sure there are actors who are more beautiful or prettier, or more handsome but “B” actors often give such a shining performance they steal the show. People like Lainey Kazan who haven’t made their mark with their looks but, instead, with their understated and spectacular performances. It’s a charisma they exude which makes their performance so memorable.

IMG_8617.PNG
Who can forget her great line in My Big Fat Greek Wedding, ” I know….it’s a cake!”
I can identify with this. I’m certainly not the prettiest, or the smartest, or the cleverest girl. I know that I will never be Grace Kelly. I accept I will always be Daisy Mae Duke, a veritable Rube that can only be polished up to a point.

IMG_8616.PNG

I have charisma though. Like these “B” actors, I make my mark in a more subtle way but one that is remembered, and that serves me well.

IMG_8615.PNG
Plus, they’re just funny people dang it, and I heard a quote in a movie that sums up much for how I view the world, “The measure of a man is his sense of humor.” -Peter Dinklage, The Station Agent.

I couldn’t agree more.

2 thoughts on ““B” Actors and Why They Rock

  1. I totally know what you are saying. Not everyone can be an A list actor even in life. I may not be a leading man, but I’m definitely a great supporting actor and the A lists couldn’t do it without me. Plus we have more fun.

Leave a Reply

